My Favorite Tool: Jenna Hartzell

Jenna's favorite tool

I am a painter and a drawer – mostly.  Lately I’ve been a drawer, sketcher and master doodler.  My go-to tool is a white, or light color pencil (depending on the subject and color scheme).  I use Prismacolor pencils and their white/light colors make for very useful blending tools.  I layer – If my intended color is green, I’ll first lay down a yellow, then cross-hatch it with a blue, adding different shades until I blend with a white colored pencil creating my desired shade of green.  The blending gives it a smooth effect – and if smooth is what I’m going for, only those white/light colored pencils do the job!

Jenna's colored pencils

Leave a Reply

