“In My Studio, I am…” By Austin Moore

In my studio I am at peace. My work area is my place to design and create without outside influence.  I consider myself an artist as well as a metal worker and I try to produce jewelry that reflects that.

Austin in his studio

I got into this profession because I needed something to fill my extra time and I enjoyed the creative process.  I also loved working with stones and most of my work is inspired by the amazing opals, moonstones, and agates which I regularly set in my jewelry.  I am also self taught, having never been formally trained or mentored, and I think that this sort of isolation from a formal process has allowed me to develop a completely unique style, different from any one else.  I am not hampered by anyone telling me that something is or is not possible, only my own imagination and skill, which I hone each and every day.

Austin at work in his studio

Constantly learning. Constantly evolving my craft.  I never stick to one design theme for more than a few pieces, as I do not wish to corner myself with a specific design set, then forced to reproduce the same piece again and again.  Most of my work is one of a kind, and much of my time is spent making custom orders for customers all over the world. I am always happy to entertain visitors to my workshop, or website.

"In my studio I am at peace..."

You may contact me via my website or earthartgems@gmail.com or 540-9093.  I am looking forward to being on the Open Studios Art Tour this year for the first time.

Cheers, Austin Moore

"...create without outside influence"

(Photo credits: Chris Bersbach)

Leave a Reply

