Before & After: Bobbye West-Thompson’s Still Life

I recently did a photo set up in my studio for a still life with pears.  From the photo I did a charcoal sketch on Colorfix sanded paper.   When happy with the drawing, I began applying color first with hard pastels then soft.  As a self-taught artist I may not follow the “rules” of others working in pastel, but find that if I play with colors, sometimes by layering, I get the best results.  My reference photo is basically a guide so I may change colors or shapes as needed.   Originally, watercolor was my medium and I still love it.  However, these chalks are new to me and a total delight to use.

Before.....

After!

See Bobbye’s work at     www.artistsofcambria.com

Contact Bobbye:    bobbyethompson@charter.net

Leave a Reply

