“In My Studio…” By Dennis Kish

In my studio…..I’m at home. Literally. I share a small beach cottage with my partner Susan Owen, eight cats and the “obstreperous border collie” as Susan says. I work wherever there is room, which might be anywhere.

I’ve been involved in the arts all my life, as an artist, as a music producer for KCBX Public Radio from 1980 to somewhere around 2003. I served as Arts Council President 1n 1985 and ’86.  I spent ten years as a board member of the Foundation for the Performing Arts Center, during that time my work was focused on the acoustics of the auditorium. These days I can occasionally be found climbing about inside “Lucretzia,” the C.B. Fisk pipe organ in the main hall, where I perform last minute tuning before organ recitals.

The university where I majored in art acquired a computer during my first year. A gigantic thing, taking up most of a floor in the administration building, where data was stored on paper cards with holes punched in them. We students viewed the whole idea with deep suspicion. The idea that a computer could have any part in “THE CREATIVE PROCESS” would have been utterly dismissed, an article of faith and all that.  And really, as long as the beasts were the size of small houses, or later filled a large room, and more recently had disk drives the size of manhole covers (I wonder about the origin of the term computer crash), I can understand the sentiment. People who actually used computers were almost as rare as organists, and for the same reasons, both were large, expensive and definitely not portable. As for the notion that computers could never be part of the creative process, currently I’m working in the digital realm, exploring what happens when you deconstruct a digital photograph, scramble the information and reconstruct it in a different way.  When my printer is producing a print, I hear it whispering artartartartartart thunk artartartartart……….

Here are two examples, both derived from the same source, and here is the source photograph.

Source image

Sun Variation

Mad Cow

Susan and I invite you to visit us at our art blog: cadogblog.wordpress.com and in person at our studio/home during both weekends of this year’s ARTS Obispo Open Studios  Art Tour (see #67, page 17 in the Art Tour catalog).

p.s.  Copies of Skosh, A Different Dragon will be available, and the cats and dog will not be under foot.

Leave a Reply

