Origins: Kim Bagwill

I’ve always love to draw and I started out copying comic books while playing at my grandmother’s house. When I was 12, I received my first oil paint set and taught myself to paint. I think my parents finally realized they had a problem when at age 13 I asked if I could paint on the unfinished cement basement wall of our brand new house. They came down and discovered I was sketching a 12′ x 8′ mural of John, Paul, George and Ringo from the Beatle’s Sgt. Pepper’s album. It took me seven months to finish, using a variety of wall paints from my parent’s hardware store, but 30 years later it’s still there.

I then went on to college and studied painting, photography and graphic design. I’ve been painting and taking photographs off and on my entire life, and supported myself with graphic and web design. I’ve always been fascinated with painting people, specifically faces. My current project is a series of portraits of school children from the 50s dressed in adult clothing. The original photograph I’m working from is a classroom-type shot of 16 children in three rows, and all are sober looking except one. I love seeing their personality in their faces and to make up stories about what they went on to do in their lives.

Paintings in process

More examples of Kim’s work can be seen on her website and be sure to stop by her Paso Robles studio both weekends of Open Studios Art Tour.

Leave a Reply

