Origins: Lindsay Wilcox

Where it all Started

It all started with the funny head pictured above – Self Portrait as Sphinx – the result of a Ceramic Sculpture class I took from Barry Frantz at Cuesta College in 1983.  I was twenty years old.

Oh, I had been immersed in art from the time I was a child.  My mother was a painter, and a career public school art teacher.  And, as a child, I was always as much of a “museum junkie” as my parents would allow.  I just could never tear myself away from looking at beautiful art.  But, the practice of it had always remained a bit remote for me.   Perhaps having seen some of the world’s best art intimidated me?

But then I got my hands in clay, not on a spinning wheel, but to build sculptures.  I suppose I’ll never know quite why– it just clicked.  That “click”  led to a passion for figure sculpture and three years study at the Art Students League of New York in the early 1990’s.   There I soaked up all I could about the practice of figure sculpture, studying with more master teachers than that first one here in SLO.

And twenty years later, I’m still exploring my passion.  Come by and see the results in person both weekends of ARTS Obispo’s Open Studios Art Tour.  Look for studio #179 in the OSAT catalog.

You can also see more of Lindsay’s work on her website.

Leave a Reply

